Self Made Hero logo


New: Tumult by John Harris Dunning and Michael Kennedy

20 June 2018

Our final release of the spring season, John Harris Dunning and Michael Kennedy's Tumult, is a stylish psychological thriller that demands to be read on the beach.

But first, you need to buy it - and what better place than Gosh! Comics, where it launches on Thursday 28th June. Join us there at 7pm for drinks, chatter and bibliotherapy.

Tumult-blog-1.jpg 93.76 KB


Here's a blurb to whet your appetite:

Adam Whistler topples himself into emotional free fall by impulsively ending his seemingly perfect relationship. He meets the bewitching and troubled Morgan at a party and is instantly ensnared in her life. When he learns that people close to her are being killed, he's determined to protect her. Or is it Adam who needs protection... from Morgan?

Tumult is a stylish contemporary psychological thriller in the tradition of Alfred Hitchcock and Patricia Highsmith.

Tumult-blog-2.jpg 76.61 KB


Twenty-three-year-old artist Michael Kennedy brings his singular style and bold colour work to a script by John Harris Dunning that is taut, pacy and achingly cool.

Tumult-blog-4.jpg 50.12 KB


Michael Kennedy is a cartoonist from Tamworth, Staffordshire. He is the artist on Spiritus from Vault Comics and has produced comics in the small press and independent scene. Tumult is his first graphic novel.

Tumult-blog-5.jpg 47.5 KB


John Harris Dunning is the writer of graphic novel Salem Brownstone. He instigated and curated the Comics Unmasked: Art and Anarchy in the UK exhibition at the British Library, the most prestigious exhibition of comics to be held in Britain. He’s written for GQ, Esquire, Dazed, iD, The Guardian and Metro.

Out now: Apollo by Matt Fitch, Chris Baker and Mike Collins

7 June 2018

Prepare for launch.

Matt Fitch, Chris Baker and Mike Collins' extraordinary account of the moon landing, Apollo, is out now, and to celebrate we're having a launch party at Soho's Gosh! Comics. (The moon would have been a more eye-catching venue, I know, but it lacks atmosphere.)

The launch takes place on Thursday 14th June, from 7-9pm. There'll be palatable wine, charming company and three creators with pens in hand, happy to scribble in your copy of the graphic novel.

Apollo-blog-1.jpg 108.46 KB


Buzz Aldrin once said, "Astronauts are not superhuman. They lead ordinary lives and have varied personalities." Apollo tells the breathtaking story of the mission itself; the moments of high drama and astonishing risk are captured in thrilling detail. But it is also a fascinating insight into the lives of three men who, in the most extraordinary of circumstances, are separated from their families and loved ones.

It's an incredible book, but don't just take our word for it.

Scientific American praised Fitch, Baker and Collins for their retelling of the "suspense-filled" story: "They convey surprising depth and emotion, as well as rich historical details of the era. The book explores the political tension around the space program at the time, the nerve-wracking anxiety experienced by the families of the crew, and the heart-stopping moments of the mission that proved to be such a milestone."

apollo-blog-3.jpg 168.6 KB


And here's Publishers Weekly: "The moon landing is one of the most well-documented events in human history, but it’s reimagined here in a way that makes it feel new again. Lovers of space-race lore will want to pick this up."

apollo-blog-4.jpg 274.59 KB


So, join us at Gosh! on Thursday 14th June to celebrate the launch of this handsome 160-page hardback. Lunar puns essential. Space suits optional.





Watch: The Brothers Quay, David Crowley and Jeff Willis on the Klimowski Poster Book

15 May 2018

Harold Pinter once said of the graphic artist Andrzej Klimowski, “He leads the field by a very long furlong, out on his own, making his own weather. He is Klimowski, unafraid”.

In this short video, filmmakers Stephen and Timothy Quay, author David Crowley and designer Jeff Willis discuss the work and influence of this most daring and brilliant of artists.



In the mid-1970s, Andrzej Klimowski’s fearlessly original artwork caught the eye of leading Polish theatre and film companies, for whom he designed some of the period’s most influential and iconic posters. The London-born artist, who moved to Poland at a time when many East Europeans dreamed of going West, went on to create posters for works by filmmakers and playwrights from Scorsese to Altman, Beckett to Brecht.

web-Spring-2018_blog_4.jpg 127.52 KB


Drawing on folk art, Polish Surrealism and the work of his mentor at the Warsaw Academy, Henryk Tomaszewski, Klimowski uses techniques including photomontage and linocut to create posters that are filled with metaphor, drama and originality.

The Klimowski Poster Book is out now and available from all good book stores.


New release: Best of Enemies: A History of US and Middle East Relations: 1984-2013

15 February 2018

The first two volumes of Best of Enemies, Jean-Pierre Filiu and David B.’s graphic history of US and Middle East Relations, took in two hundred years of conflict and diplomacy, from the Barbary Wars to the Reagan era. The third and final volume, out now, is an essential guide to the events of the late twentieth- and early twenty-first century: thirty turbulent years that shaped the political and humanitarian crises of today, from the rise of populism and the so-called Islamic State to the global refugee crisis.

web-best-of-enemies_1.jpg 99.89 KB


Best of Enemies: Part Three begins with Iraq’s invasion of Kuwait in 1990 and ends with Obama’s decision, in 2013, to put military action against Syria on hold. Spanning the First Gulf War, the rise of al-Qaeda, the military response to the September 11 attacks and the ongoing conflict in Syria, the third and final volume is propelled by a clash between four US presidents and their Middle Eastern antagonists: Saddam Hussein, Osama bin Laden and Bashar al-Assad.

web-best-of-enemies_2.jpg 87.73 KB


Filled with David B.’s trademark playfulness and wit, Best of Enemies is both erudite and immensely readable. It lands many satisfying satirical blows while never losing sight of the complexities of this troubled relationship and the difficulties faced by those attempting to manage it.

web-best-of-enemies_3.jpg 101.62 KB


Best of Enemies is out now and available in all good book shops.